So it is true. People do get grumpier as they get older. Well, it is true at least in my case. Things bother me so much more lately than ever before. While I gobble down a few calcium pills and search for my inner peace, let me tell you a few things/people that grind my gears.
1. Entitled mommies with huge strollers
There are a lot of babies (not kids, but babies and infants) in my building and my neighborhood. When I go outside with Touchdown, I see these mommies yakking in a circle in the middle of the sidewalk. Though these ladies have the time to glance at me and my dog and make a inner assessment to see if my dog poses any danger, yet they get right back on the important discussion of the century...Where to buy inexpensive organic baby food. It's not enough that they have to form a congre-fucking-gation in the middle of the sidewalk, each and every one of them has a double stroller. So I always either stepping down to the street and walk around parked cars or take a chance on stepping in shit on grass. Once in a while, when I just had enough, I stop and wait right outside of their ring and just stare at them.
Every case like this I encountered has always been with ladies. Lately I see a lot of dads running or taking a walk with a baby (babies) in a stroller, but I have yet to experience the same scenario as above with dads...Then again, I spoke too soon.
Look at the picture below. You see the mini van (station wagon?) has the back open? There was a family of 3 in the back of that car, the trunk area, daddy, mommy, and baby (probably not even a year old). This is in Queens, off Ascan Ave, and this place is very typical for Queens, the parking space is limited. I wanted to park my car there and run into the Japanese deli quickly. I was just so surprised at their decision of throwing a family picnic in the back of their van, with their stroller, again, parked right outside of the vehicle. And needless to say, they took up 2 parking spots. Now I am waiting, with my blinker on, for them to at least move the stroller so I could park. They looked at me for a second, but then went right back to the JC Penny family photo moment. Did they possibly think I stopped and pulled over to appreciate this strangers' family moment, and hopefully they'd invite me in like I am Stella's mother? Luckily, a spot in front of their car was open, so I was able to park but really. REALLY!! Why are these people so entitled? Were they like that before they had a baby? Or do babies nowadays come with a jerk certificate? I respect people's decisions on having babies and making family. I have willingly given up my seat in a train/bus for pregnant ladies and I think that's only natural. I have friends that now have less time because they have kids. I have helped my friend nurse her baby in a toilet. Having kids must be rewarding yet hard hard work. Sometimes people have to do things on the spot or give up their own pleasure for their little ones. I don't have kids but I understand that much. I respect it, too. I look at my friends' kids as my own family and love them so much. So I want to make my point clear. What I can't stand is the attitude in some people that are very entitled simply because they have a baby. Should everything and anything be forgiven if you have a stroller? And let me tell you one more thing, if people are allowed to bring their babies that cry and scream and kick the seat throughout the movie to the theater, then I should be allowed to bring my dog!!
2. Dog (animal) abusers and the law on animal cruelty
You do not absolutely need to be a dog (animal) lover but come on, already. This is year 2014. Get your shit together. Below is the link of a grossly neglected dog that came so so close to death. The dog (he was named Patrick) was given to this lady as a gift, but she didn't take care of him at all because she was too busy taking care of her 3 (could have been 4) kids. She fed Patrick once a week, never took care of him and one day, she stuffed him in a garbage bag and threw him down the garbage chute while he was still alive and she went on a trip. A garbage collector found him and took him to a vet. When the vets were getting ready to dissect him to find the cause of his death, he moved. He was super emaciated and looked like a mummy, everyone thought he was already dead. The vets were so surprised but gave him urgent care and much love. His stomach was shut down, he had really low body temperature, he had a mass in his tummy, had diarrhea with blood...so many problems. Though he started to get better little by little, he refused to eat food out of people's hands. After being mistreated by a terrible owner, you can't blame him for not trusting humans. However, the vets and nurses never gave up on him. They kept caring for him, petting him, talking to him and just kept on loving him. He now is fully recovered and lives happily at the vet's home. (I added the link just to share with you how terrible a shape he was once in.) Although this has such a happy ending, I am sure this is not the first time you heard a case like this (even with sad endings) before. What is wrong with people who can't/don't care about "LIFE". This owner could have surrendered her dog to a shelter. She could have asked a vet for advise and resources for adoption. But she would rather have the dog starve to near death and watch him get weak day by day, and just dump him in the garbage. For this kind of act, she got 18 months of probation and $2000 fine to N.J ASPCA. Really? Really? How do we expect people to take this matter seriously if the government doesn't take it seriously? I do NOT believe in an eye for an eye but the penalty should definitely be more harsh.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsvoVEtCDkI
I have so much more I want to share but being angry takes so much energy. I will write again, but for now, thank you so much for reading. Lights out!!

No comments:
Post a Comment