Tuesday, June 10, 2014

You know what really grinds Wumpan's gears?

So it is true. People do get grumpier as they get older. Well, it is true at least in my case. Things bother me so much more lately than ever before. While I gobble down a few calcium pills and search for my inner peace, let me tell you a few things/people that grind my gears.

1. Entitled mommies with huge strollers

There are a lot of babies (not kids, but babies and infants) in my building and my neighborhood. When I go outside with Touchdown, I see these mommies yakking in a circle in the middle of the sidewalk. Though these ladies have the time to glance at me and my dog and make a inner assessment to see if my dog poses any danger, yet they get right back on the important discussion of the century...Where to buy inexpensive organic baby food. It's not enough that they have to form a congre-fucking-gation in the middle of the sidewalk, each and every one of them has a double stroller. So I always either stepping down to the street and walk around parked cars or take a chance on stepping in shit on grass. Once in a while, when I just had enough, I stop and wait right outside of their ring and just stare at them. 

Every case like this I encountered has always been with ladies. Lately I see a lot of dads running or taking a walk with a baby (babies) in a stroller, but I have yet to experience the same scenario as above with dads...Then again, I spoke too soon.

Look at the picture below. You see the mini van (station wagon?) has the back open? There was a family of 3 in the back of that car, the trunk area, daddy, mommy, and baby (probably not even a year old). This is in Queens, off Ascan Ave, and this place is very typical for Queens, the parking space is limited. I wanted to park my car there and run into the Japanese deli quickly. I was just so surprised at their decision of throwing a family picnic in the back of their van, with their stroller, again, parked right outside of the vehicle. And needless to say, they took up 2 parking spots. Now I am waiting, with my blinker on, for them to at least move the stroller so I could park. They looked at me for a second, but then went right back to the JC Penny family photo moment. Did they possibly think I stopped and pulled over to appreciate this strangers' family moment, and hopefully they'd invite me in like I am Stella's mother? Luckily, a spot in front of their car was open, so I was able to park but really. REALLY!! Why are these people so entitled? Were they like that before they had a baby? Or do babies nowadays come with a jerk certificate? I respect people's decisions on having babies and making family. I have willingly given up my seat in a train/bus for pregnant ladies and I think that's only natural. I have friends that now have less time because they have kids. I have helped my friend nurse her baby in a toilet. Having kids must be rewarding yet hard hard work. Sometimes people have to do things on the spot or give up their own pleasure for their little ones. I don't have kids but I understand that much. I respect it, too. I look at my friends' kids as my own family and love them so much. So I want to make my point clear. What I can't stand is the attitude in some people that are very entitled simply because they have a baby. Should everything and anything be forgiven if you have a stroller? And let me tell you one more thing, if people are allowed to bring their babies that cry and scream and kick the seat throughout the movie to the theater, then I should be allowed to bring my dog!!


2. Dog (animal) abusers and the law on animal cruelty

You do not absolutely need to be a dog (animal) lover but come on, already. This is year 2014. Get your shit together. Below is the link of a grossly neglected dog that came so so close to death. The dog (he was named Patrick) was given to this lady as a gift, but she didn't take care of him at all because she was too busy taking care of her 3 (could have been 4) kids. She fed Patrick once a week, never took care of him and one day, she stuffed him in a garbage bag and threw him down the garbage chute while he was still alive and she went on a trip. A garbage collector found him and took him to a vet. When the vets were getting ready to dissect him to find the cause of his death, he moved. He was super emaciated and looked like a mummy, everyone thought he was already dead. The vets were so surprised but gave him urgent care and much love. His stomach was shut down, he had really low body temperature, he had a mass in his tummy, had diarrhea with blood...so many problems. Though he started to get better little by little, he refused to eat food out of people's hands. After being mistreated by a terrible owner, you can't blame him for not trusting humans. However, the vets and nurses never gave up on him. They kept caring for him, petting him, talking to him and just kept on loving him. He now is fully recovered and lives happily at the vet's home. (I added the link just to share with you how terrible a shape he was once in.) Although this has such a happy ending, I am sure this is not the first time you heard a case like this (even with sad endings) before. What is wrong with people who can't/don't care about "LIFE". This owner could have surrendered her dog to a shelter. She could have asked a vet for advise and resources for adoption. But she would rather have the dog starve to near death and watch him get weak day by day, and just dump him in the garbage. For this kind of act, she got 18 months of probation and $2000 fine to N.J ASPCA. Really? Really? How do we expect people to take this matter seriously if the government doesn't take it seriously?  I do NOT believe in an eye for an eye but the penalty should definitely be more harsh. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsvoVEtCDkI

I have so much more I want to share but being angry takes so much energy. I will write again, but for now, thank you so much for reading. Lights out!!




Sunday, June 8, 2014

Wumpan VS Atelophobia

Guy at the dog run: "You are Japanese? Hmmm...then how come you are fat?"
I could tell you, he had no intention to insult me or hurt my feelings. He was genuinely puzzled. He then continued, "Asian girls are usually so skinny." Well sir, today is your lucky day. You are staring at one medical miracle!! If I could get my 90lb soaking wet mother from Japan, we can charge people admission. While you may think a man like this deserves a lightening or two by my Mjolnir, I wasn't too upset (surprisingly) about him or his dagger he innocently threw at me. If you know me well, you know that I am not fond of Japanese people (though I am one). I don't like to be around them because I know I stick out like a sore rainbow colored thumb. I feel like I can hear people's inner voice just like the man at the park. People are always surprised to know I am Japanese but it's not because my English is ok, but I just simply don't look/act like one. Am I paranoid? Maybe, maybe not, but it doesn't matter, because that is what I think. There are many reasons why I came to America. I was always fascinated by English and wanted to communicate with people using this magic jiberish. But I also wanted to get away from skinny people. I thought, maybe I could blend in better if I go to a country/place where there are many people from different origins, languages, cultures and shapes. It's easy to compare apples with apples, but if I jump into a fruit basket, it would be normal not to look the same as other fruits. I am, though, still dragging my low self esteem like Linus with his blanket. I have tried many things to either fix this problem or at least suppress my devil on my shoulder. Obviously none of them has worked so well. Sometimes I get encouraged or at least a little giggle from posts mainly on FaceBook that say curvy women are better. But that doesn't last so long either because I feel like I am trying to be over confident. Of course, there is nothing wrong with being proud of who we are. I personally think a bit over confident is more attractive as a person than no self esteem. But I don't want to be overly proud, to almost be overcompensating from defense mechanism. But I don't want to feel like I owe an apology for people who are willing to spend some time with me either. I just want to be OK with myself. If I don't like the way I look for whatever reason, I should try harder to fix that, but in the meantime, I should just be ok with myself. If I can't do that, then I should at least grow a tougher skin. I'm sure you have gotten at least a handful of mean comments from people intentionally or unintentionally. I'm also sure you have given mean comments, again, intentionally or unintentionally. Though raising awareness around us (you know there are bullies everywhere children or adults alike) and talking TO each other rather than ABOUT each other are really important, I don't want to spend my entire life correcting people. I have more than a dozen times given back a quick comeback to rude people. But while I laughed at this guy's bite sized pee-pee, my bleeding boo boo needed a bandage, plus I never felt good afterwards. Feeling bad about oneself is such a terrible feeling. I don't wish that on anyone even if you are hurting my feelings. So although the guy at the park clearly needed my private etiquette lesson, I now have 2 choices. I can cry my precious Sunday night away, or have an extra sprinkle on my ice cream on him and have a good night. I guess you know which one I'm going to do.
why do we have to define ourselves by whether men are attracted or not?


hahaha


only if they didn't misspell angel

Sunday, June 1, 2014

Where to Eat in Staten Island

Staten Island is not a place you visit unless you absolutely have to. This was a few years ago but I told my hair dresser that I lived in Staten Island, he was so surprised and said, "Wow, I didn't know people live on that island!" He might have misunderstood Staten Island with Ellis Island though...

Though I don't live there anymore, I used to struggle with finding good restaurants to go on the island. They have pharmacies and chain restaurants to choke a truck load of horses, but when it comes to some local good bites...I digress. So I listed (random order) the good places to eat on the island...if you should EVER end up in Staten Island by some kind of terrible mistake, check them out before frantically trying to find a way out of it.

1. Green Garden (752 Forest Ave, 718-815-0161)
I really love their shrimp in white wine sauce and beef and scallop dish. Their prices are reasonable (especially lunch specials) and food is fresh. I like that their food is not greasy at all. 

2. Burger Chef (CLOSED!!!!!)
This was a nice joint on Victory Blvd. They had really good burgers. Daffy's on Forest Ave is pretty famous for their burgers but I personally like Burger Chef burgers better. The cook (might have been the owner, too) was a very friendly guy, and he used to smile so happily every time I told him I enjoyed their food. I just found out though, that they closed. I am just listing this place out of good memories and respect. I will never forget you, Burger Chef!!

3. Denino's Pizza (524 Port Richmond Ave 718-442-9401)
One advise. GET THERE EARLY!! They have a tiny parking lot, which is unusual for Staten Island, gets full right away and a line forms in the restaurant (sometimes the line goes OUT the restaurant!) so you have to get there early. I LOVE to eat but HATE to wait for it. The boss from my previous work took me out to eat there when I left. We went there on a Friday around 5. The restaurant was quiet but by the time we left, there were people waiting in the lounge area. They have a rather simple menu. Pizza (many different toppings), Appetizers, Salad and some Platters, that's it. Their pizza is thin crust. I don't like pizza but I loved their pizza. That should tell you a lot.
(By the way, there is a bread place right across the street. It is NOT a bakery. It is a bread place. I believe it's a factory. They make their breads there and deliver them to supermarkets. Their breads are really good! I once bought a loaf of Italian bread and ate it all in the car on my drive home.)

4. Piece-A-Cake (177 New Dorp Ln 718-980-2253)
There is a bakery called Cake Chef on Jewett Ave, and this is like their second bakery. It is a cafe, and you can eat there. In addition to the yummy sweet stuff, they have nice brunch menus. I really love their focaccia!! Make sure to bring some "dough" though, since they only accept cash.

5. Rinconcito Paisa (1976 Forest Ave 718-442-0880)
Their Columbian food is awesome! Price is good, plenty of food, if you feel like clogging your arteries, this is the place to be! Everything I've had there is great but my favorite by far is their shrimp in garlic sauce. I also love love love their plantain chips with sofrito sauce. They are just greeeeeeeeat!! They also have freshly made fruit juices which are really good.

6. Pasticceria Bruno (676 Forest Ave 718-448-0993)
They have another one on Hylan Blvd, which I believe is bigger, but I have only been to the one on Forest Ave. They are a bit pricy, but I really like their grilled calamari salad and key lime pie. Bruno is right next to my old job, so I used to get the salad and the pie when I got paid. I never tried their pizza or pasta though.

7. Royal Crown Bakery (1350 Hylan Blvd 718-668-0284)
I thought the style of this bakery is very rare in Staten Island. This restaurant reminds me of the watered down version of Mamas of Corona in Queens. Though they have menus in the restaurant, some foods are in the show case and they sell it by the pound. The restaurant and the bakery are next to each other and you can order and eat in either place. They are pricy but their broccoli robe and sausage panini is outrageously good and they make their own balsamic dressing. It's sweet and goes well with pretty much anything. They sell it in a bottle. I fell in love with it and bought a bottle (15 bucks though!!) They have patio seatings that face Hylan Blvd. The fumes from the traffic of Hylan Blvd would be a nice compliment to your dish.

Bon appetit!!
Denino's pizza...with sausage topping


Rinconcito Paisa...what did I tell you about clogging arteries?

Rinconcito Paisa...love their sofrito sauce and fresh juice!

Rinconcito Paisa...salad and rice come with almost everything.