Friday, October 14, 2011

Feast in Little Italy

It's been such a long time since I wrote about food here!! I have been busy, but still trying to make some good stuff!! I went to the feast in Little Italy in NYC a few weeks ago, and I ate me some really good stuff!! I tried this goodie called "Mozzarepa". It looks like a silver dollar pancake made of polenta (cornmeal) and has mozzarella cheese in the middle. It was yummy. Since the cornmeal is sweet and mozzarella cheese is rich, you can't really eat the whole thing by yourself (at least I couldn't.) Good thing I was with my friend, we split it in half. I totally forgot to take a picture, but I will try to make it at home one day!! I also had angel hair with shrimp at the nice restaurant. It had some creamy, yet very thin tomato sauce on it. It was soooooo good, but was more than $12 for a tiny plate. How much does it cost to cook 1/10lb of pasta??? I understand it's about the experience, but even the shrimp was cut up in small pieces!! (Thanks to my generous friend, lunch was on him!!) We walked around some more, bought some delicious cannoli, fried Oreo and a pink cat (might be a mouse) hat in Chinatown and went home happy and full.


By the way, OMG, fried Oreo!! You must be one of the worst food people could possibly come up with, but damn, they are soooooo good!! Why did I not try them sooner? I was always a fan of zeppoli, but from now on, I will dedicate myself to fried Oreo, all mighty. Man, are thy good. I don't even like regular Oreo so much. But hey, what doesn't taste good dipped in batter and fried in grease?

They all had different flavor...strawberry, mudslide, peanutbutter and so on.

After I came home, I decided to challenge myself to make the pasta I enjoyed. I bought some cream, tomatoes and shrimp. I made thin spaghetti for myself instead of angel hair. This is really the beauty of making things on your own. You get to control the amount and quality of the ingredients that go in your dishes. Although I did not taste garlic, I added some, and to revenge (???) the shrimp, I added the WHOLE shrimp. Since I don't have to think cost effectively, my shrimp can dive into the pan without getting chopped up. And Voila!! You can see both below. Next time, I can add some more tomatoes because I ended up with no sauce...But maybe the restaurant might be using canned tomato/tomato sauce instead the fresh tomatoes...I have to try it that way next time.

from restaurant


by Wumpan
Instead of the nice view of the street of Little Italy from the balcony, I had 2 dogs staring at me, drooling, but I have to say, the pasta was quite successful!! It was nice and creamy and you can really enjoy the texture of the fresh shrimp, and basil really gave it a nice touch, preventing the pasta from being too rich and creamy. I know, and you know, this is now in my recipe box and I will keep on improving!!

No comments:

Post a Comment