Thursday, March 10, 2011

Wumpan's busy day

I had such a busy day...I don't know how people do this...I don't even have kids or a job...So my day started at 8am, took a shower and went to pick up my friend to go to a toso together. (I go chanting every Wednesday morning...trying to be a good Buddha.) Then I dropped her off to visit another friend. We had lunch at this place called Duffy's on Forest Avenue, Staten Island. This place is famous for their burger and we went to try it out. I actually have been here before with my husband, I totally forgot about it. The burger is juicy and they use great quality meat enough to serve it rare. (I like my cow mooing.) I got today's special...burger with swiss cheese and mushroom. Again, very juicy, but...too under seasoned for me. I had to put salt and pepper on every bite of the meat. I also don't like rye bread which they serve the burger on, so I asked for english muffin instead. They serve every burger with potato chips...hmmm...potato chips...I like how the chips absorbed the juice from the meat, but I would still like french fries with my burger. I also thought that it might be a bit lazy to serve chips out of a bag. If they are proud of their burger, they should spend a bit more time on what they serve on the side, too. They also have crab claws cocktail for market price, which I tried with my husband. They were yummy, I remember. After the lunch, I went to give blood (I give it every 2 months!!) and then went grocery shopping...dizzy...I then went home and put the stuff away. I took a little snooze then off to a planning meeting. Then I found out it's been rescheduled, I went to see my friend for dinner. Since I had to pick up my husband at the ferry, we decided to go to this place called Pier 76 on Bay Street, Staten Island. It's a very nice Italian restaurant/bar and they were playing the Knicks game with a few excited Knicks fan at the bar. I had a chicken cutlet with broccoli rabe hero with fries. Since I don't like tomato sauce, I was happy this wasn't a chicken cutlet parm. The hero was very simple, 2 slices of chicken cutlet with boiled (maybe steamed) broccoli rabe. I LOOOOOVE broccoli rabe, and this was soooo good!! Nice and savory, but no bitterness from broccoli rabe. Maybe you could add a little parmesan cheese, but it was nice, fresh, hot and yummicious!! The only thing I don't understand is none of the panini and hero came with fries. C'mon, no fires? Really? No fries? Not even potato chips? So I ordered a side dish of fries. The volume of the fries was more than enough. I shared them with my friend, and we still couldn't finish it. With a drink each, 2 sandwichies and side fries for little less than 30bucks. Not too bad, eh? When I came home, it was already after 10pm!! That used to be my prime time when I was younger...My lights were out by 11:30. Nite nite, Wumpan, you did a great job!! (patting myself on the back) By the way, the last 2 pictures are from the joint called Burger Chef on Victory Blvd, Staten Island. I like their burger more than Duffy's. It came with FRIES (I am so hung up on the fries thing, I know.), onion rings, pickles and a choice of cole slaw/macaroni salad. It's about double the price from Duffy's, but I think it's worth it. I took those pictures with my cell phone, but for some reason, they look like pictures out of a magazine...don't they?

焼肉三昧

お友達に呼ばれた次の日、家でうちの旦那のお別れパーティをすることになっていて (彼氏は金曜から出張でインド七日間とついでに観光でドイツ三日間行きます。)家でも焼肉することになっていたので昨晩のお友達の家でも焼肉が出たのでびっくり!! 歳も年だから焼肉二日連続はきつい...と思ったら全然平気でした。家では野菜、エビ、鳥、豚、牛、焼きそばなどしました。Targetで安い鉄板買って、皆でワイワイ夜遅くまで楽しかった。窓開けてやったのに、結構次の日も家が焼肉臭かったけど、またやろうね!! 写真には載ってないけど鳥はモモ肉を一口大に切ってバジル、レモン、にんにくとオリーブオイルに漬けて焼きました。デザートはアイスクリームや、チョコプリン、ゼリーにイチゴとラズベリーや生クリームを添えました。写真に取るの忘れたんだけど、赤ワインに果物とジンジャーエールをいれてサングリアも作ったよ。わんぱんお疲れ様...ちょっとぐったり。
豚肉と牛タンは塩コショウとレモンで
隣のワンタンは私の次の日のお昼
デザートはショットグラスに入れてみました

焼肉!!

お友達のお家に呼ばれて焼肉をご馳走になりました。焼肉機は本格的な網焼き!! 骨付きかルビと、豚肉と野菜と、ビールと梅酒でわんぱん大満足~!! ちなみにデザートはあんドーナツ。おなかパンパンわんぱんは一番幸せなわんぱんです。お家もメチャクチャきれいだし、私も将来はこんなお家に住みたいな。
サラダもおいしかった♪
梅酒は沖縄産、黒糖、泡盛入りで甘くておいしかった。